Skip to Content

MGH Career Development Program in Substance Use and Addiction Medicine

Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts

Position Description:

We are pleased to announce that the K12 Career Development Program in Substance Use and Addiction Medicine, based at the Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) and funded by the National Institute on Drug Abuse of the National Institutes of Health, is recruiting one post-doctoral clinician-scientist to start on or after July 1, 2019. The award aims to help the Scholar establish an independent research program in patient-oriented substance use and addiction research.

The program provides salary, training and project support for a 2- to 3-year period of intensive mentored research training and career development. Research and training proposals are sought on a broad range of substance use and addiction medicine topics that include but are not limited to laboratory, clinical, or epidemiologic research into such topics as risk factors, neurobiologic mechanisms of addiction and recovery, treatment development, implementation of validated interventions, factors associated with recovery, and policy.

The program, a collaboration of the MGH Departments of Medicine and Psychiatry, offers a multidisciplinary clinical research training program based at MGH and Harvard Medical School. It aims to provide scholars with a concentrated research experience, mentorship, and advanced training to prepare them for leadership in addiction medicine through independent research careers in academics or industry or influential positions in government. The program will support (1) advanced education and training in research methods relevant to a scholar’s area of interest, and (2) a mentored research experience in the addiction research programs at MGH or affiliated hospitals and institutions. Awards will generally be made for 2-3 years, contingent on the scholar’s progress.

Funding includes an annual stipend of $80,000 for 75-100% effort and up to $35,000 annually in allowable research and training costs that may be applied to travel to scientific meetings, research project costs, and tuition expenses with approval of the mentor and program leaders.

Qualifications:

Eligible applicants will have completed doctoral-level training in a clinical discipline (MD, PhD or equivalent). Additional research training prior to this program is preferred but not required. Appropriate students can learn quantitative and analytic skills by attending the 10-week Program in Clinical Effectiveness of Harvard’s TH Chan School of Public Health (HSPH) in their first summer. Admission to that program requires completing separate application to HSPH.

Applications are now being accepted for scholars to start the program in June 2019.

Final due date for applications is 5 pm EST on January 14, 2019.

To Apply:

Application instructions are below. Applications must be accompanied by letters of recommendation, one from a clinical training program director and one from a current or recent research mentor. A letter of support from a proposed K12 program mentor is also required. A list of mentors is attached.

Application Instructions
I. Application, due by January 14, 2019, 5 PM EST.
1. Application Form (attached)
2. Research Plan
A. Specific aims (1 page recommended)
B. Background (1/2 page recommended)
C. Research design, methods, and feasibility (2.5 pages recommended)
D. Preliminary Data, preferred but optional (1 page recommended)
(Sections A-D may be a maximum of 5 pages, excluding references
E. Career goals, including how the MGH K12 research scholar program will advance these goals, and a rationale for requested duration of support (2-4 years) (1 page max)
F. References
3. Biosketch NIH format https://grants.nih.gov/grants/forms/biosketch.htm
4. Letters of recommendation from:
(1) a clinical training program director
(2) a current or recent research mentor
(3) a letter of support from a proposed K12 research mentor.
5. Single example of scholarly work, preferably a first-author publication.

NIH guidelines for page formatting should be followed for the research plan. https://grants.nih.gov/grants/how-to-apply-application-guide/format-and-write/format-attachments.htm
*E-mail all application materials in a single PDF file to: Gladys Pachas, MD, Program Director, MGH Center for Addiction Medicine gpachas1@mgh.harvard.edu 617-643-1991
Notification of awards will be made in March, 2019.

*Please note: Applications for the Program in Clinical Effectiveness are due at HSPH on February 1, 2019 and require a separate application. For more information, please visit: http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/clineff/

Per NIH guidelines, applicants must be citizens or non-citizen nationals of the United States or have been lawfully admitted for permanent residence at the time of appointment (must have a currently valid Permanent Resident Card (USCIS Form I-551) or other legal verification of such status. Non-citizen with temporary or student visas are not eligible to apply unless they have begun the process for becoming a permanent resident and expect to be admitted as a permanent resident by the earliest possible award date. Persons from underrepresented groups including, but not limited to, African Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Americans, Alaskan Natives, Pacific Islanders, women, persons with disabilities, and persons from disadvantaged backgrounds are strongly encouraged to apply.

We look forward to reviewing your application. If you have questions about this program, please contact: Gladys Pachas, MD (gpachas1@mgh.harvard.edu or 617-643-1991)

A. Eden Evins, MD, MPH Psychiatry MGH aeevins@mgh.harvard.edu
Nancy Rigotti, MD Medicine MGH nrigotti@partners.org
Margarita Alegria, PhD Medicine/Psychiatry MGH malegria@mgh.harvard.edu
Travis Baggett, MD, MPH Medicine MGH tbaggett@mgh.harvard.edu
Ingrid V. Bassett, MD, MPH Medicine MGH ibassett@mgh.harvard.edu
Joan Camprodon-Gimenez, MD Psychiatry MGH jcamprodon@mgh.harvard.edu
Raymond Chung, MD Medicine MGH Chung.Raymond@mgh.harvard.edu
Darin Dougherty, MD, MMSc Psychiatry MGH ddougherty@partners.org
Maurizio Fava, MD Psychiatry MGH mfava@mgh.harvard.edu
Kenneth Freedberg, MD, MSc Medicine MGH kfreedberg@mgh.harvard.edu
Jodi Gilman, PhD Psychiatry MGH jgilman1@mgh.harvard.edu
Laura Holsen, PhD, MS Medicine/Psychiatry BWH lholsen@bwh.harvard.edu
Amy Janes, PhD Psychiatry McLean ajanes@mclean.harvard.edu
John F. Kelly, PhD Psychiatry MGH jkelly11@mgh.harvard.edu
Douglas Levy, PhD Medicine MGH dlevy3@mgh.harvard.edu
Nikolaos Makris, MD, PhD Psychiatry/Neurology MGH nikos@cma.mgh.harvard.edu
Bertha Madras, PhD Psychiatry McLean bertha_madras@hms.harvard.edu
Conall O’Cleirigh, PhD Psychiatry MGH cocleirigh@mgh.harvard.edu
Elyse Park, MPH Psychiatry MGH epark@mgh.harvard.edu
Tracey Petryshen, PhD Psychiatry MGH tpetryshen@mgh.harvard.edu
Jordan Smoller, MD, MS, ScD Psychiatry MGH jsmoller@partners.org
Anne Thorndike, MD, MPH Medicine MGH athorndike@mgh.harvard.edu
Roger Weiss, MD Psychiatry McLean rweiss@mclean.harvard.edu
Jonathan Winickoff, MD, MPH Pediatrics MGH jwinickoff@mgh.harvard.edu