Skip to Content

FelCom - FARE

The Fellows Award for Research Excellence (FARE), began in 1995 to recognize the outstanding scientific research performed by intramural postdoctoral fellows.

FARE 2020 is open for applications:

The FARE award is sponsored by the NIH Fellows Committee, the Scientific Directors, and the NIH Office of Intramural Training & Education, and is funded by the Scientific Directors. Fellows submit an abstract of their research, which is peer reviewed in a blind study section competition.

  • The authors of the 25% of abstracts that receive the highest scores are recognized as FARE winners.
  • Winners of FARE awards will each receive a $1500 stipend to attend a scientific meeting at which they will present their abstract, either as a poster or an oral presentation.*
  • FARE winners serve as judges for the following year's FARE competition.
  • All winners have the potential to be selected for a talk at the research festival or a SIG (Antibody interest group, RNA interest group, Decode Chromatin interest group, Protein Trafficking interest group, Single-Cell Genomics Group), provided their research matches the scientific interests of the session or group. If you would NOT like to be considered for a talk, please email FARE.

*NHLBI Fellows do not receive a $1500 travel grant, as NHLBI policy is that fellows should attend all meetings that are necessary for their career development, and that meeting attendance should not depend upon winning a travel award

FARE applications are accepted every year in February and March. For more information on the application process, including eligibility criteria, please see the Rules and Regulations.

Rules and Regulations

Additional Information

Committee Members for FARE 2020

Sara Young-Baird, NIGMS
Helen Michael, NCI

Committee Members:
Leanne Low, NIAID
Dani Cai, NICHD
Kumarkrishna Raychaudhuri,NCI
Snehal Gaikwad, NCI
Li Chen, NICHD
Sarah Fritz, NHLBI
Brandon Anjuwon-Foster, NCI
Cody Ramin, NCI
Daniel Arango, NCI

FARE Committee 2020