Skip to Content

Felcom membership

The NIH Fellows Committee (FelCom) is comprised of Postdoctoral Representatives from each of the 21 Institutes-Centers of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Intramural Research Program (IRP). Each FelCom member is classified by one of the following member types:

  • Ad Hoc -Fellows who have volunteered to help with a specific FelCom subcommittee for a defined length of time. Ad hoc members do not have voting privileges
  • At Large - Fellows who have volunteered to become involved in a FelCom subcommittee or as a liaison. Appointed through the Postdoctoral Services Director of the Office of Intramural Training & Education (OITE). At large members have voting rights. They must abide by the same attendance policies as IC (institute and center)-appointed representatives.
  • Basic - Postdoctoral fellows with PhDs. Basic representatives are appointed by the Scientific Director, Clinical Director, or Training Director of the relevant IC. Typically one per IC.
  • Clinical - Clinical fellows with MDs. Clinical representatives are appointed by the Scientific Director, Clinical Director, or Training Director of the relevant IC. Typically one per IC.
  • Ex Officio - Several key members from OITE and OIR (Office of Intramural Research) holding leadership positions.

Felcom Officers, Committee Chairs and Liaisons

The following is a list of fellows who hold officerial, committe chair, or liaison positions within the FelCom organization.

FelCom Officers

    • Co-Chair, Basic Science: Kathy Reding
    • Co-Chair , Clinical Fellows: Anne Martini
    • Membership Secretary: Sara Young-Baird
    • Administrative Secretary: Danielle Sambo

Committee Chairs

    • Career Development Committee: Diptadip Dattaroy & Xin Huang
    • Clinical FelCom Committee: Vincent Chau & Anne Martini
    • Fellows Award for Research Excellence (FARE) Committee: Alix Warburton & Leanne Low
    • Mentoring: Fei Mo & Ashleigh Hanner
    • Public Relations: Alexis Carter
    • Service Outreach Committee: Rosario Jaime & Surangi Perera
    • Social Committee: Nick Madian & Jason Avery
    • Visiting Fellows Committee: Vrushali Agashe & Michael Buch
    • Wednesday Afternoon Lecture Series (WALS) Committee: Salina Gairhe & Valerie Darcey



  • American Federation for Medical Research (AFMR): Amit Dey
  • Animal Research Advisory Committee (ARAC): Guru Nagarajan
  • Child Care Board: Melissa Mazza & Pragya Prakash
  • Committee on Scientific Conduct & Ethics: Jillian Varonin
  • Foundation for Advanced Education in the Sciences (FAES): Patrick Wright & Katherine Reding
  • Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC): Jessica Zolton
  • Graduate Student Council (GSC): Carla Gibbs
  • Human Subjects Research Advisory Committee: Emma Kurnat-Thoma
  • Medical Executive Committee (MEC): Vincent Chau & Anne Martini
  • National Postdoc Association (NPA): Helena Farkasova
  • Outreach Liaison: Craig Myrum
  • PRAT Liaison: Sara Young-Baird
  • Recreation and Welfare Committee & Health and Wellness Council: Tiffany Zarrella
  • Training Directors Commitee: Belinda Hauser & André Rose
  • Women Scientists Advisors (WSA) Committee: Jennifer Groebner & Mona Orr

Institute/Center (IC) Representatives

  • FDA: Narayana Garimella & Fardokht Abulwerdi
  • NCATS: Atena Farkhondeh Kalat
  • NCCIH: Nick Madian
  • NCI-CPFP: Anne Julian
  • NCI-Shady Grove: André Rose
  • NEI: Dinusha Rajapakse
  • NHGRI: Xin Huang
  • NHLBI: Matthew Hannaford
  • NIA: Cristiana Banuelos & Srijita Dhar & Maja Mustapic
  • NIAAA: Patrick Piantadosi & Danielle Sambo
  • NIAID: Steven Brooks
  • NIBIB: Sumit Chaturvedi
  • NICHD: Jessica Zolton (Clinical) & Anshika Jain (Basic)
  • NIDA: Andrew Wright
  • NIDCD: Matt Fishl & Braulio Peguero
  • NIDCR: Belinda Hauser
  • NIDDK: Shyamala Jadhav
  • NIEHS: Salahuddin Syed
  • NIGMS-PRAT: Sara Young-Baird
  • NIMH: Kathy Reding
  • NIMHD: Kristyn Kamke
  • NINDS: Patrick Wright (Basic) & Farinaz Safavi (Clinical)
  • NINR: Kisha Greer
  • NLM: Gurmeet Kaur
  • USUHS: Moriah Jacobson
  • VRC (NIAID): Juan Moliva & Kizzmekia Corbett

FelCom Advisors

  • Chuck Dearolf, PhD, OIR
  • Sharon Milgram, PhD, OITE
  • Lori Conlan, PhD, OITE